Posted in Photography

The Textures & Colors Of Winter

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When Ordinary Becomes Extraordinary

This morning I am thinking about the winter and the cold weather.  I constantly look for ways to keep myself “in spirit.”  For me being “in spirit” means being in gratitude, peace, joy, forgiveness and being out in nature.  When I feel I need a lift, being out in nature is vital to me.  I turn off the “tube” bundle up and take to the back yard.   The texture and colors of winter are enough to bring even the hardest of hearts back to their spirit.  What we can find in our own yards is amazing.  There’s a lot going on in the world as the TV so often points out.  But there is also a lot going on right in our own back yard.  Our Juniper trees on our property are several hundred years old.  They twist and turn over the years from wind, sun and the relentless search for water.  Their beautifully twisted trunks are painted with a soft sage green moss.   All the different wild flowers turn brown and the textures are amazing. 

Winter White

Winter white, think again of the brown grasses

lying down from the blanket of fresh fallen snow.

 Winter white, think again of the blue-green branches

of the spruce and pine showing signs

of new growth even in winter.

Winter white think again, of the green cactus

hiding under the tumbleweeds.

Winter white think again at the sunrise of this January morning.

Author:

I am an interior designer with over 27 years of experience in both residential and commercial design. I love the "do it yourself" person because I am a do it yourself person and I very much identify with making old new again. I believe that our spirits are rejuvinated and inspired when we relect who we are and what we believe in and are not afraid to face the harder parts of our lives. This blog will be dedicated to that purpose. I am also a survivor of domestic violence. I have an insatiable desire to grow and learn about myself in both spiritual and emotional ways. I love being a guest speaker for events in self-growth with the idea of hopefully inspiring others that past traumas can be over come and life can be terrific or at the very least good!

Leave a Reply

