Posted in Decorating Ideas, Inspiration and Home Decor, Uncategorized

Welcome October

25th Wedding Anniversary 2014 234.JPG

I’m not sure what I love the most about Autumn.  Maybe it’s the cool mornings, turning leaves, the bright orange pumpkins in the fields waiting to be carved into Jack O Lanterns or pumpkin pies.  I love Halloween, love Thanksgiving and I love the days before Christmas and New Years.  This time for me is the best time of the year.  I think I love the fall season the most because it signals the nesting in me and in my friends.  The bright orange and red wreathes go up on the front doors, the soups start cooking and it means sharing with family and friends.  When I am working with clients on a decorating site, the most important thing to me is an abode that welcomes family and friends.  I love decorating with vintage items but to me nothing inspires fall than bringing in the outdoors.  I love to pile up the dried leaves, pinecones, corn shocks, pumpkins, indian corn, yellow field corn and of course lots of gourds on my fireplace mantel and any place that I can find to decorate.  Often I think maybe I lived another life on a farm somewhere in the mid west just because of how much I love the harvest.  My advice to fall decorators, “Make a thermos of coffee, fix some sandwiches and enjoy the cooler weather, visit your local farm stands and go overboard with the wonderful items mother nature provides for our natural decor.”

Author:

I am an interior designer with over 27 years of experience in both residential and commercial design. I love the "do it yourself" person because I am a do it yourself person and I very much identify with making old new again. I believe that our spirits are rejuvinated and inspired when we relect who we are and what we believe in and are not afraid to face the harder parts of our lives. This blog will be dedicated to that purpose. I am also a survivor of domestic violence. I have an insatiable desire to grow and learn about myself in both spiritual and emotional ways. I love being a guest speaker for events in self-growth with the idea of hopefully inspiring others that past traumas can be over come and life can be terrific or at the very least good!

One thought on “Welcome October

Leave a Reply

