Posted in Uncategorized

A Life Well Lived

ebaypicturessho 008I have been absent for a while from my blog and today seemed like a fitting day to get back to it.  Especially being Easter weekend. I lost my dad January 9th at 5:38 P.M. to colon cancer.  It has been a very long couple of years caring for him.  My family (I have 3 other sisters and a brother) were all there to help my mother who is 82 take care of him in his last days of life.  I cannot think of a better gift than to be with someone and care for them in their last days.  My dad was an artist, a spiritualist and a naturalist.  He believed that God existed in all things and he loved to spend hours talking and writing about the connection between God and nature, God and art and he was constantly growing spiritually.  He was an avid Richard Rohr reader.  He was not a perfect person  but he was always striving to better himself.  My dad set the path for his children on how to die with dignity.  I lost part of myself  the last two years of caretaking but I also found myself.  I found that when you love someone so much, you can do most anything for them.  I often see elderly people alone and wonder who will take care of them in their last days.  I am so thankful for the honor.  My siblings also feel the same way.  Dad will live on in his artwork, in our visits and in our excursions outdoors. I will be back now with my blog sharing stories about great homes and shops.  I have also gained a new appreciation about the importance of our homes and what it’s like to be able to die at home with your personal things around you and your family to care for you.  I would be remiss in not saying how absolutely wonderful our hospice care nurses were.  (Sangre De Cristo Hospice)  We could not have done this without their constant care and helping.   I would like to say that during my dad’s last hours he was talking to people we could not see and pointing upwards to the sky as if he was trying to share with us his journey.  At one point he even whispered, “this dying process is fascinating.” (ever the scientist)  In dad’s room was a beautiful crucifix nailed to an old  piece of driftwood, his favorite watercolors and his favorite books.  He would listen to music and just contemplate.  My brother-in-law would read poetry to him from his favorite books. I put a bird feeder outside the window and the first day no birds came (I cried so hard because it was the only thing I could give my dad for Christmas that I thought he would enjoy.) But miraculously on Christmas day the feeder was filled with beautiful songbirds. As we took care of his needs we could hear the birds and watch them.  It was a gift from God.  When my dad drew his last breath it became so real to all of us that our bodies are just shells, that the soul spirit soars.  My dad’s spirit lives in his beautiful watercolors he left us, our love of nature and our love of all things spiritual!  I know that my dad is all around and I am thankful to God for sending his Son so that we can be free.  None of us are perfect neither was my dad.  But thankfully Easter is a time to reflect on our lives and experience the rebirth and to be aware of the high price Christ paid.  Happy Easter it’s great to be back!

Author:

I am an interior designer with over 27 years of experience in both residential and commercial design. I love the "do it yourself" person because I am a do it yourself person and I very much identify with making old new again. I believe that our spirits are rejuvinated and inspired when we relect who we are and what we believe in and are not afraid to face the harder parts of our lives. This blog will be dedicated to that purpose. I am also a survivor of domestic violence. I have an insatiable desire to grow and learn about myself in both spiritual and emotional ways. I love being a guest speaker for events in self-growth with the idea of hopefully inspiring others that past traumas can be over come and life can be terrific or at the very least good!

One thought on “A Life Well Lived

Leave a Reply

