Posted in Uncategorized, Valentines Day

A Tisket A Tasket a Valentines Day Basket!

100_1219

I love re-purposing stuff to the point it becomes an obsession.  A few weeks ago I was making some chili and I couldn’t bring myself to throw away the #2 tins when I was done emptying them out.  I washed the tins out and then let them sit until I could think of some way to re-purpose them.  Here’s the project just in time for Valentine’s Day and can be adapted for Easter.  It’s a great craft project for a group or for children.  (for children some of the process should be done ahead.)  Here’s the project step by step.  Let me know if you try it.  I would love to see pictures of your done baskets.

 Step One:  Start with a clean can #2 or larger.  Make sure the edges are free from sharp points.  Spray inside and out with a soft white or light pink flat spray paint. ( I find that paper adheres to flat paint just a little bit better).  Let tin dry thoroughly  then figure out where you want to attache the handle.  Use an awl to puncture the hole for the rivet.  I put the edge of the tin on  block of wood and punched inward towards the inside of the tin.  Then I gently sand off the edges inside the tin so they don’t have sharp edges.

Step Two:  I used card stock paper to decorate the outside of the tin using 3M adhesive spray.  I also used vintage lace and paper cutouts to decorate the outside of the tin.  When you are done with the outside you can also spray with a mat paper preserver spray or a mat gel medium.

Step Three:  For the handle I used two strips of card stock glued together to make it a little stronger I then decorated it with antique buttons and lace and distressed it a bit with a brown ink.  Punch a hole in the ends of each one using the awl again.  I used scrap booking pink rivets for card making to attach my handles.  I loved the from the outside and the handles move.

Step Four:  Fill with your favorite treats or used for Valentine’s day cards.

100_1218

100_1214100_1212100_1210

Author:

I am an interior designer with over 27 years of experience in both residential and commercial design. I love the "do it yourself" person because I am a do it yourself person and I very much identify with making old new again. I believe that our spirits are rejuvinated and inspired when we relect who we are and what we believe in and are not afraid to face the harder parts of our lives. This blog will be dedicated to that purpose. I am also a survivor of domestic violence. I have an insatiable desire to grow and learn about myself in both spiritual and emotional ways. I love being a guest speaker for events in self-growth with the idea of hopefully inspiring others that past traumas can be over come and life can be terrific or at the very least good!

Leave a Reply

