Posted in Field Trips, Inspiration and Home Decor

Strength Creativity & Passion

Life can be very difficult from time to time.  When we lose someone we have loved dearly or if life just throws a curve at us, it causes us to think about our lives and where we are going with them.  When heartache or sadness hits us it causes us to reevaluate who we are, what do we believe in, and where are we going.  I have found over the years that my ups and downs have become part of my story and have made me who I am.  My bumps in the road have given me a strength that I didn’t know was possible.  The bumps have made me not sweat the little stuff.   I have learned one thing with age and that is if you take life “one day at a time” it is definitely more doable.  There is one thing that always stands true for me and that is my home no matter where I have lived over the years and that includes apartments, tiny one bedroom houses and big roomy houses. (Being married to a military man for 23 years I have seen the worst and the best in housing.)   But for me my home has always been my shelter, my nest, my place I can go when everything else around me seem crazy.   When I have days that I can’t hardly breath, my home with its four walls is there like an old friend with a cup of coffee.     Recently a dear friend has experienced the worst kind of loss, as her beloved husband of 30 years passed away.  Her faith in God and humanity has shown itself through this new journey she is on.  Her home is a wonderful elegant statement as to the strength, creativity and passion for all things new and old.  It has shown me that it’s okay to change things up, to let go, to experience all that life has to offer and that means adding a little spice to our wonderful loyal homes.  This is a field trip to my friend’s gorgeous home and it  is living proof that life is about finding the beautiful even if it is someone’s old glass vase or vintage shoes.  It’s about using the ambiance of the past  to make our home more lovely and comforting for us in the now.

Author:

I am an interior designer with over 27 years of experience in both residential and commercial design. I love the "do it yourself" person because I am a do it yourself person and I very much identify with making old new again. I believe that our spirits are rejuvinated and inspired when we relect who we are and what we believe in and are not afraid to face the harder parts of our lives. This blog will be dedicated to that purpose. I am also a survivor of domestic violence. I have an insatiable desire to grow and learn about myself in both spiritual and emotional ways. I love being a guest speaker for events in self-growth with the idea of hopefully inspiring others that past traumas can be over come and life can be terrific or at the very least good!

Leave a Reply

