Posted in Inspiration and Home Decor

The Joy and Comfort of Home

As an interior designer I have had the joy of going on a lot of house calls.  I prefer residential design to commercial design (someday that subject will be a blog).  I love my home and I love working with people who love their homes and want them to be the best they can be.  A few years ago I had a consultation appointment with a very lovely woman.  Her husband had recently passed away and she had to move out of her long time home.  She had some furniture that she wanted to keep and yet she needed a fresh start and new colors.  We spent a couple of hours going from room to room with me giving her ideas about color, patterns, furniture arrangement and I kept getting the feeling that she had something else on her mind.  When we were all done I grabbed my briefcase and was about to say goodby on the front porch.  Then she said, ” Could I ask you something?”  I said sure of course you can.  She said, “I have breast cancer and it’s my second time around with it.  Do you think it’s ridicules for me to fix up my home knowing that I have this battle in front of me?’   I opened the door, put my briefcase down and said.  I can’t think of a better place to heal than a home you love and feel comforted in.   We talked for quite a while about healing and feeling secure and cozy.  It is in moments like this that I realize just how wonderful our homes are.  What a great comfort to be in familiar surroundings with our favorite things.   This woman showed me her gorgeous photographs of flowers that she had taken and we framed them for her kitchen.  What a sunny and beautiful reminder that there is something greater than us out there.  It is in the simple things that we can see the wonder and joy of life.  I have a good friend  with cancer and I can’t think of a better place for her to be than surrounded with her own colors, furniture, meaningful art and a cozy kitchen flooded with sunlight.  Good interior design isn’t always about the perfect color.  It is about the joy of feeling comforted and being able to express yourself. It’s about the spirit of home!

Author:

I am an interior designer with over 27 years of experience in both residential and commercial design. I love the "do it yourself" person because I am a do it yourself person and I very much identify with making old new again. I believe that our spirits are rejuvinated and inspired when we relect who we are and what we believe in and are not afraid to face the harder parts of our lives. This blog will be dedicated to that purpose. I am also a survivor of domestic violence. I have an insatiable desire to grow and learn about myself in both spiritual and emotional ways. I love being a guest speaker for events in self-growth with the idea of hopefully inspiring others that past traumas can be over come and life can be terrific or at the very least good!

2 thoughts on “The Joy and Comfort of Home

  1. I was so touched by this story. Home also doesn’t mean elaborate and expensive. It is about flow and about aesthetics. It’s an outward expression of our inner being.

    Like

Leave a Reply

