Posted in Uncategorized

Domestic Violence Month

What a great day to be alive and free!

Fall has a very special meaning for me.  Many of you that know me personally, know that I am a domestic violence survivor.   I was married at the age of 18 to a man who became increasingly violent over the 9 years we were together.  I stayed in the dangerous situation because I thought I had married for life and I had a beautiful son to take care of.  Towards the end of the marriage I almost lost my life and I did lose every material thing I owned.   I finally had the courage to get out of the situation and by doing so have raised a wonderful son who is now married and has a beautiful wife and daughter.   I was once told that if you leave a violent situation you can break the cycle of violence with your children.  I know this is true.  I wish I could tell you it was an easy task, raising a son alone, it wasn’t easy, but I wouldn’t trade our worst days of struggling like the electricity cut off or food stamp lines for anything.  We had our freedom and our safety finally.  We were happy!   I am now married to a wonderful man who is kind and strong.  He is a police officer who is constantly seeing domestic violence cases.    He has shown me a life of security and love and most importantly he has always allowed me to be myself.   My advice for anyone with a loved one in a violent situation is to take a stand.   Show them how to get out!  A lot of families are afraid to step in and say no to violence.  They feel it is none of their business.  Please take a stand!   I now speak to groups of women and men who are living in shelters and trying to start again.  My hope is that they know, that no matter what financial hardships they might face that your life and your child’s life is not worth a few material things that can be replaced.   Life is very precious.  Our children deserve better.  So please recognize Domestic Violence Month all year long.  Support your shelters with donations and take a stand with loved ones who are living in fear.  Don’t be afraid to step in and help!  This month I will wear the purple ribbon proudly because it takes strength and courage to leave a bad situation but it can be done!  I am living proof!

Author:

I am an interior designer with over 27 years of experience in both residential and commercial design. I love the "do it yourself" person because I am a do it yourself person and I very much identify with making old new again. I believe that our spirits are rejuvinated and inspired when we relect who we are and what we believe in and are not afraid to face the harder parts of our lives. This blog will be dedicated to that purpose. I am also a survivor of domestic violence. I have an insatiable desire to grow and learn about myself in both spiritual and emotional ways. I love being a guest speaker for events in self-growth with the idea of hopefully inspiring others that past traumas can be over come and life can be terrific or at the very least good!

2 thoughts on “Domestic Violence Month

  1. ” its great that you guys are focusing people’s minds on the issue of domestic violence by devoting a month to raising awareness. In the UK we’re trying different approaches to encouraging young people to talk through the implications of domestic violence by using film and digital media. We’ve created a site called http://www.kimthemovie.com that shows a drama about a young woman’s experience of living with an abusive partner. This is a UK approach but I hope you guys find it useful. Thanks.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

