Posted in Uncategorized

Home Really Is Where The Heart Is!

One of the things I most enjoy as an interior designer is home consultations.  I love going into someone’s home and showing them a few tips and helping them put together their own style.  I love a person who is willing to try something new.  A few years ago I had a house call with a lovely lady who was trying to blend some older furniture styles with  newer home decor.  I kept feeling like she was holding back on me during the house call.  It was as if she had a secret and she was holding it in.  She was an amazing amateur photographer and we went through the whole house putting together a workable, affordable plan.  As I we walking out the door she said, “May I ask you a question? I have breast cancer and am in my second round of treatment.  Do you think this is ridicules fixing up my home?”  I dropped my briefcase on the ground walked back into the house and sat down.  I told her that no matter what happens in the world around her outside,  her home on the inside will become her sanctuary during her treatment and recovery.  I told her that what she did to make her home a more spiritual place will help her for years to come.  I really believe that our home is our place of rest and a place where we can express who we are without fear of what the rest of the world will think.  It is a place where our spirit can become re-energized.   Our home, be it an apartment, condo, retirement village, house, mansion, or tent needs to be a place where we can show who we are and what we believe it.  It is our source of spiritual nourishment.

Author:

I am an interior designer with over 27 years of experience in both residential and commercial design. I love the "do it yourself" person because I am a do it yourself person and I very much identify with making old new again. I believe that our spirits are rejuvinated and inspired when we relect who we are and what we believe in and are not afraid to face the harder parts of our lives. This blog will be dedicated to that purpose. I am also a survivor of domestic violence. I have an insatiable desire to grow and learn about myself in both spiritual and emotional ways. I love being a guest speaker for events in self-growth with the idea of hopefully inspiring others that past traumas can be over come and life can be terrific or at the very least good!

Leave a Reply

